Half Write

I’m wrong, but so are you

Difference.

leave a comment »

Tolerance is something of a negative buzz word in the Christian community. It has the same stigma attached to it as the word relativism. Both of these terms constitute part of what’s wrong with Christianity today, say many. It’s what makes one a wishy-washy or a “lukewarm” Christian – to steal a bit of Christianese from the evangelical playbook. Most Christians view tolerance as the world’s attempt to legitimize every belief system and religion EXCEPT Christianity, and to eliminate absolute “right” and “wrong” by making everything “ok” under the guise of tolerance.

I can see that point. Here is an interesting quote:

“I have seen great intolerance shown in support of tolerance.” – Samuel Taylor Coleridge

Nonetheless, let’s look at an actual definition of “tolerance”:

TOLERANCE:
The capacity for, or the practice of, recognizing and respecting the beliefs or practices of others.

Notice it does not say the “approval of” or “agreement with” these beliefs. In fact, in my mind, when I hear the word “tolerance”, I think of reluctant acknowledgement at best.

I was fortunate enough not to be very popular in school. Sounds strange to say that, I know, but looking back I am thankful for it. At the time, it obviously wasn’t great. I always had a handful of good friends, but for many, many years, I didn’t really fit into the acceptable norm. I moved to New Jersey right when I turned 12 years-old, and coming from the midwest, it was a culturally shocking experience to say the least. It does something to you when you are so scrawny, so pale and so gawky that you can’t walk into a room of total strangers without at least a few people stopping what they’re doing, turning to notice and occasionally commenting – sometimes to each other, and sometimes to you.

Whether people tolerate us or our beliefs is irrelevant, and should not dictate how we treat other people.  It’s about respect for people as human beings.  It’s about common decency. 

The highest result of education is tolerance.” -Helen Keller

“Tolerance implies no lack of commitment to one’s own beliefs. Rather it condemns the oppression or persecution of others.” – John F. Kennedy

Written by Derrick S

April 16, 2008 at 3:05 pm

Posted in General

Tagged with , ,

Leave a comment